Annotated sample

The audit report, page by page

A guide to every section of the Shadow AI Audit report, using the numbers from the sample: an example company whose 5,693-line network export turned up 37 AI tools. Each part below says what the page shows, how to read it and what to do next.

11 pagesin this sample. Yours grows with your data
37 toolsfound in the sample export
24 sourcesusers and devices, grouped into 10 teams
84 / 100AI exposure index: severe
Executive summary page of the sample Shadow AI audit report: AI tools found, high-risk tools, the AI exposure index and the tools to block. Sample Preview the sample report 11 pages, opens in your browser · PDF

How long is a report?

There is no fixed page count. Every report has the same sections in the same order, and the long lists grow with your data: the tool inventory, the list of users and devices, and the block list. The sample has 11 pages because its 37 tools fill 2 inventory pages and its 24 users fill 2 pages.

Always there (7 pages)

Cover, executive summary, risk landscape, the 13 risk factors, tool inventory, action plan, and method and control evidence. Teams and people is added when your export identifies users or devices.

Grows with your data

The inventory fits 21 tools on its first page and 29 on each page after. The users list fits 12 people under the team chart, then 30 per page, up to 300. More than 12 tools to block adds a block-list page.

White-label adds 2

A white-label report adds your own introduction page after the cover and your own recommendations page before the method section. The sample in white-label form has 13 pages.

Your exportReport pages
37 tools, 24 users (this sample)11
12 tools, no user column (a small office's DNS export)7
90 tools, 120 users in teams16
250 tools, 300+ users in teams (a large proxy export)27

The on-screen report in your account shows exactly the same pages as the PDF.

Every page, explained

Click any page image to open it full size. The numbers quoted are the sample's own; your report shows yours in the same places.

Cover

The answer before the detail

The cover carries the four headline findings and four numbers, so someone who reads only one page still gets the point. It also records who the report is for, how much evidence it is based on (5,693 log lines in the sample) and the date.

37AI tools6high risk9to block84exposure index

Read it for

  • The size of the problem in one glance
  • Whether the evidence is broad enough (lines read)

Do next

  • Forward the PDF to whoever owns AI policy
  • Keep the date: re-runs are compared against it
01 · Executive summary

37 AI tools in use. 9 should be blocked.

The title of this page is always the two numbers that matter most. Below it sit the AI exposure index, six tiles and up to five findings written in plain sentences, then a bar that splits every tool into Block, Allow with controls and Allow under the rules you chose.

The exposure index runs from 0 (no unmanaged AI) to 100. It rises quickly with a few serious findings: high-risk tools, tools holding data under high-risk jurisdictions, abusive-purpose tools and tools that train on user data weigh most, and every tool not on your approved list adds a little. The sample scores 84, which is severe.

0-34 Low
35-54 Moderate
55-74 Elevated
75-100 Severe

The sample's findings

  • 32 of 37 AI tools in use are not on your approved list
  • 27 tools may train models on what your staff type
  • 6 high-risk tools, including deepseek.com, kimi.com, manus.im
  • 9 tools should be blocked under the General business rules
  • 29 other services in your log were left alone

Do next

  • Use the index to compare runs of the same organisation, not different companies
  • If the title's block number is large, go straight to the action plan
02 · Risk landscape

Where the risk sits

Four views of the same tools. The risk level ring splits them into high, medium and low. The training grid gives one square per tool, coloured by what the vendor's own terms say about training on what users type. The category bars show what kind of AI is in use. A table at the bottom names the highest-risk tools and says why each is rated high.

6high24medium7low12train by default15unless opted out1terms silent

Three smaller tiles count tools with high data-sovereignty exposure (6 in the sample), abusive-purpose tools such as deepfake or "nudify" generators (1), and AI-native tools against AI features inside other apps (34 / 3).

Read it for

  • Whether your risk is a few bad tools or a long tail
  • How many vendors are silent about training: silence is not a "no"

Do next

  • Check each named high-risk tool with its users first
  • Treat "not stated" tools as "may train" until the vendor says otherwise in writing
03 · Risk factor profile

13 risk factors, tool by tool

Every tool in the register is assessed on 13 factors taken from its jurisdiction, its purpose and the vendor's own published terms. The bars count how many of your tools carry each one. Red factors raise risk on their own, amber ones need a decision, green ones are protections you can use.

High risk rating6
Medium risk rating24
High data-sovereignty exposure6
Abusive-purpose tool1
Trains on user data by default12
Trains unless opted out15
Training terms not stated1
Opt-out available16
No training on business plans26
No training on API data12
Feedback used for training despite opt-out17
Human review of conversations20
Sub-processors may train0

Read it for

  • Which protections exist: 26 sample tools exclude business plans from training
  • Hidden catches such as feedback used for training despite an opt-out

Do next

  • Where a business plan excludes training, buy it rather than block the tool
  • Switch opt-outs off per account, not per user, where the vendor allows it
04 · Teams and people

Who uses what

When your export names users as TEAM\user, as Windows DNS and most proxies do, this section starts with a risk-by-team heatmap: how many tools each team reached at each risk level, with the number of people in brackets. The sample's 24 sources fall into 10 groups, from Other devices, MKT, ENG down.

Below the heatmap the most active users are listed with their number of AI tools, high-risk tools, requests and the tools they use most (the sample's most active source reached 7 tools with 188 requests). Long lists continue on further pages. If the export only has IP addresses, you get the list without the team chart; if it has no source column at all, the section is left out.

Read it for

  • Which team needs the conversation first
  • Requests count log lines, not people: read them with the tool count

Do next

  • Talk to the team, not the individual: most shadow AI is a missing approved tool
  • We see which services were reached, never what anyone typed
05 · AI tool inventory

Every AI tool we found

One row per tool, sorted by number of requests. This is the page auditors ask for. The sample's 37 tools take 2 pages. The columns:

  • Tool and category
  • Risk: high, medium or low overall rating
  • Sov.: data-sovereignty exposure, where the data is held and under which law
  • Training: Trains, Opt-out, No training or Not stated
  • Biz plan: whether business or enterprise plans are excluded from training
  • Approved: on the approved list you entered
  • Users: how many sources reached it
  • Verdict: Block, Controls or Allow under your rules

The CSV that comes with a full report has the same rows with all 13 factors, the matched hostnames and the date each vendor's terms were last checked.

06 · What to do next

Your action plan

The verdicts turned into three steps most teams complete in a day, based on the rules you picked (the sample uses General business). You can switch to one of 15 industry rule sets in your account and the whole report is rewritten for it.

9Step 1: block now28Step 2: allow with controls0Step 3: approve

In the sample, step 1 blocks

  • deepseek.com, suno.com, napkin.ai, kimi.com, manus.im, character.ai, seaart.ai, klingai.com, deepswap.ai

Do next

  • Load the block list into your firewall or DNS filter: ready-made files are available for the common ones
  • For "controls" tools, buy the business plan, turn on single sign-on and confirm the no-training terms
  • Name the approved alternative for each blocked tool, then re-run the audit to confirm
07 · How this report was made

Method and control evidence

The last page explains what was checked for each tool, how the exposure index works and what happened to your data (the export is read in memory and deleted; only the report is kept, for 90 days). It ends with a control evidence statement: a paragraph that records the source, the date, the register size (11,890 verified AI tools at the time of the sample) and the result, written so it can go straight into an audit file.

Read it for

  • What an auditor or client will ask: "how do you know?"

Do next

  • File the PDF with your firewall or filter configuration as the AI usage control inventory for the period

Every label, decoded

The same words appear on every page, in the web view and in the CSV.

Block

Stop it at the network

High risk under your rules: high-risk jurisdiction, abusive purpose, or training on user data with no business plan that turns it off.

Controls

Allow with controls

Fine on a business plan with single sign-on, logging and no-training terms. Not fine on a personal free account.

Allow

Fine as it is

Low risk and acceptable under the rules you picked. Add it to the approved list so staff know.

Not stated

The vendor is silent

The terms say nothing either way about training on user data. Silence is not a promise: treat it as "may train".

Free preview, full report and white-label

Uploading is free. The free preview has every chart and score; the full report names everything. Open each version of the sample to compare.

Free previewFull reportWhite-label (MSP plan)
Sample9 pages, open11 pages, open13 pages, open
Exposure index, charts, 13 factorsAll toolsAll toolsAll tools
Tools named in the inventoryThe 8 most used; 29 locked in the sampleEvery toolEvery tool
Teams heatmap and usersLockedYesYes
action planCounts, and the tools already shownEvery tool, by stepEvery tool, by step
PDF and on-screen reportYesYesYes
CSV with all fieldsNoYesYes
Your logo, colour, title, intro and recommendationsNoNoYes, no mention of shadowaitools.com

Full reports are a one-time purchase: 1 for $99, 3 for $199, 5 for $299. See pricing and white-label reports.

Who reads which page

The report is written to be split. Send each reader the pages they act on.

Board and leadership

Cover and executive summary. The exposure index and the block number are the whole story at that level.

Security and IT

Risk landscape, the 13 factors, the inventory and the action plan. The block list goes straight into the firewall or DNS filter.

Compliance and audit

Inventory and the control evidence statement, filed with the filter configuration for the audit period.

Team leads

Their own row of the teams heatmap and the approved alternative for each blocked tool.

MSPs and consultants

The whole report under your brand, with your introduction and recommendations. Re-run monthly to show progress.

Risk register owners

The CSV: one row per tool with all 13 factors and the date each vendor's terms were checked.

Four ways first reports get misread

Treating requests as people

  • Requests count log lines, not employees. One busy automation can outscore a department.
  • Read requests together with the number of users.

Panicking at the total

  • In the sample, 28 of 37 tools land in "allow with controls".
  • The block list is short. Work it first and the total stops mattering.

Ignoring AI inside approved apps

  • AI features added to software you already approved are counted too (3 in the sample).
  • They passed procurement before the AI existed.

Reading "not stated" as "no"

  • 1 sample vendors say nothing about training on user data.
  • Until they say so in writing, plan as if they might.

Sample report questions

Is the sample real data?

The company and its users are invented, and the network export was generated for the sample. Everything else is real: the tools, their ratings and terms come from the live register, and the report was produced by the same engine that makes customer reports.

How many pages will my report have?

At least 7. Users or devices in the export add the teams section, more tools and a longer block list add pages, and white-label adds two. A 90-tool export with 120 users comes to 16 pages.

Can I see the report on screen, not only as a PDF?

Yes. Your account shows the same pages in the browser, with a selector to switch between the 15 industry rule sets. The PDF and, for full reports, the CSV are one click away.

What if my export has no user names?

The teams chart needs names in TEAM\user form. With IP addresses you get a list of devices instead, and with no source column the section is left out. Everything else is the same.

How current are the training verdicts?

Each verdict carries the date the vendor's terms were last checked, and the register behind the audit is updated daily.

Can I share the sample?

Yes. The sample is public and needs no account. The link to this page or to the in-browser sample works on phones too.

Your network, this document, today

Run the free preview first. If the numbers surprise you, the full report is one click and $99 away.

Start the free audit Preview the sample again